Anglo-Saxon Plant-Name Survey

Contributing Authors and Expert Advisors


Authors and their Current Plant-Names

Banham, Dr D.A.R. University of Cambridge, U.K.
bremel, bremelbrær, bremelþorn, bremelþyrne, brer, brerþyrne, heopbremel,
heope, heorotbrem(b)el, heorotbrer, hindbrer
Email: dbanham@home.cam.net.uk

Bierbaumer, Prof. P. Karl-Franzens University, Graz, Austria
bradeleac, brocþung, cicena mete, curmealle, curmealle seo læsse, seo lytle
culmille, seo lytle curmealle, cologræig, eolhsecg, feldwyrt, fornetes folm,
foxes fot, horselene, hwitleac, hylwyrt, hælwyrt, sunddeaw
Email: peter.bierbaumer@kfunigraz.ac.at

Biggam, Dr C.P. University of Glasgow, U.K.
adreminte, æspe, cwicbeam, cwictreow, eoh, feferfuge, iw
Email: c.p.biggam@btinternet.com

D’Aronco, Prof. M.A. University of Udine, Italy
elehtre, galluc
Email: daronco@hydrus.cc.uniud.it

Hooke, Dr D. University of Birmingham, U.K.
æscapeldre, þorn
Email: hooked.hst.arts.bham@hhs.bham.ac.uk

O’Hare, Ms C. University of Glasgow, U.K.
gearwe
Email: C.O'Hare@englang.arts.gla.ac.uk

Unebe, Ms N. Tokyo Kasei Gakuin University, Japan
fleotwyrt, flotwyrt, sæwar, war, waroþ
Email: nunebe@interlink.or.jp

Wotherspoon, Ms I. University of Glasgow, U.K.
hymlic, hymlice
Email: I.Wotherspoon@englang.arts.gla.ac.uk


Advisers and their Areas of Expertise

Allen, Dr D.E. Independent scholar, U.K.
British herbal medicine (non Anglo-Saxon), botany

Banham, Dr D.A.R. University of Cambridge, U.K.
Anglo-Saxon medicine, diet and agricultural economy
Email: dbanham@home.cam.net.uk

Breeze, Dr A. University of Pamplona, Spain
Medieval Celtic languages, texts, and etymology
Email: abreeze@unav.es

Burnley, Prof. D. University of Sheffield, U.K.
Middle English language and texts
Email: D.Burnley@sheffield.ac.uk

Carron, Dr H. Independent scholar, U.K.
Old Norse language and texts
Email: hcc26@hermes.cam.ac.uk

Clarke, Mr M. University of Cambridge, U.K.
Dyeplants and archaeobotany
Email: markey@gn.apc.org

Craig, Mrs G., U.K.
Health and medicine
Email: ghec2@cus.cam.ac.uk

Cronk, Dr Q. University of Edinburgh and the Royal
Botanic Garden, Edinburgh,U.K.
Botany
Email: quentin.cronk@ubc.ca

D’Aronco, Prof. M.A. University of Udine, Italy
Latin and Greek medicine and plant-names, textual transmission
Email: daronco@hydrus.cc.uniud.it

Dickson, Prof. J. University of Glasgow, U.K.
Botany
Email: J.Dickson@bio.gla.ac.uk

Forbes, Dr R. Queen’s University of Belfast, U.K.
Botany
Email: r.forbes@fujin.qub.ac.uk

Hall, Dr A. University of York, U.K.
Archaeobotany, especially dye-plants
Email: biol8@york.ac.uk

Hawkes, Dr J. University of Cork, Ireland
Art history
Email: jane.hawkes@ucc.ie

Hill, Dr D. University of Bristol, U.K.
Science of dyes and dye-plants
Email: D.J.Hill@bris.ac.uk

Hines, Dr J. University of Wales, U.K.
Archaeological theory, artefact studies
Email: Hines@cardiff.ac.uk

Hooke, Dr D. University of Birmingham, U.K.
Historical landscape studies
Email: hooked.hst.arts.bham@hhs.bham.ac.uk

Hough, Dr C. University of Glasgow, U.K.
Place-names
Email: C.Hough@englang.arts.gla.ac.uk

Howlett, Dr D. University of Oxford, U.K.
Anglo-Latin language and texts
Email: david.howlett@ccc.ox.ac.uk

Kay, Prof. C.J., University of Glasgow, U.K.
Semantics and lexicography
Email: C.Kay@englang.arts.gla.ac.uk

Lennard, Dr J.H. Independent scholar, U.K.
Plant pathology, crop plants
Email: mjhlen@waitrose.com

Mabey, Dr R. Independent scholar, U.K.
17th to 19th century plant-names, uses, and folklore

O’Dochartaigh, Prof. C. University of Glasgow, U.K.
Scots Gaelic language and texts
Email: C.O'Dochartaigh@celtic.arts.gla.ac.uk

Okasha, Dr E. University of Cork, Ireland
Old English language and texts
Email: e.okasha@ucc.ie

Okasha, Dr Y. Independent scholar, Ireland
Arabic language
Email: e.okasha@ucc.ie

Roberts, Prof. J. University of London, U.K.
Old English language and texts
Email: jane.roberts@kcl.ac.uk

Rogers, Ms P. Textile Research in Archaeology, U.K.
Textile technology

Rydén, Prof. M. University of Uppsala, Sweden
Swedish and early Modern English plant- names
Email: f32mr33v@students.su.se

Sauer, Prof. H. University of Munich, Germany
Old English semantics and etymology
Email: hans.sauer@anglistik.uni-muenchen.de

Sneader, Dr W. University of Strathclyde, U.K.
Pharmaceutical science, history of drugs
Email: w.e.sneader@strath.ac.uk


ASPNS homepage